Home > International, Interviews > Andrei Kirilenko talks about his first Brooklyn Nets start and double-double

Andrei Kirilenko talks about his first Brooklyn Nets start and double-double

February 24, 2014

The Brooklyn Nets have won on the road against the Lakers – 108-102 last night. It was Andrei Kirilenko’s 25th game with his new team and the first one he started. Right after the game Kirilenko talked with Pavel Osipov of Sport-Express.

Here’s my quick translation:

When did you learn that you would be put into the starting five against the Lakers?

During the team meeting in the morning.

What was your reaction?

(Laughs) Didn’t I ever start?

On the Brooklyn Nets, never.

Today there were reasons for this. First, Shaun Livingston got a minor injury. Second, we missed Kevin Garnett who doesn’t play in second games of back-to-backs.

You, on the other hand, have played too much in these last two games, setting season highs. First, 32 minutes against Golden State, then, less than a day later – almost 35 and a half against the Lakers. Isn’t it hard?

No. I felt myself even better during the second game, felt being at 100 percent – just the way I should. This is why I was running and jumping around. Didn’t make all my shots though (laughs). In previous games, it was like playing half the norm.

Another season-high – 10 rebounds, and so a double-double.

This season I completely stopped paying attention to my stats. It doesn’t make any sense when you play much less than you used to. But on the other hand, it’s a new club and there are new goals. This is why stats don’t mean anything for me.

Andrei Kirilenko

And still, four steals (third personal best of the tournament) – does it mean that Kirilenko is back in his top shape? Do you agree?

(Laughs). But I had three of those right in the beginning of the game, it the first quarter.

But the last one happened in the decisive moment, when you led by eight with a minute to go. It looked like that was a key moment.

It’s possible. Though right after that I lost the ball – thew a pass to Joe Johnson across the defense for some reason, even though I know one should never do it.

You made just two of your six free-throw attempts, it was the only down point of this game. Why didn’t they go in?

I don’t know. And I don’t understand why.

Last question. Right now Brooklyn is on its longest road trip that spans seven games. How hard is it to play so many games on the road in a row?

It’s not easy. And it’s very good that we won two of our last three games. Especially since we are facing Portland and Denver next – these teams play very well at home.

  1. Vikram Kapur
    February 24, 2014 at 4:23 pm | #1

    What about Timofey Mozgov?!!! We want an update on him!!! I’m tired if Coach Shaw not playing him enough!!! He should leave the Nuggets!!!

    Sent from my iPhone

    • February 24, 2014 at 4:43 pm | #2

      Will try to publish something about Moz too, sorry for the long silence.

Comments are closed.
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

