Home > Interviews > Kirilenko analyzes Timberwolves’ game, talks five-by-fives, Rubio

Kirilenko analyzes Timberwolves’ game, talks five-by-fives, Rubio

December 8, 2012

Pavel Osipov of Sport-Express has interviewed Andrei Kirilenko on the phone after the game against Cavaliers, during which Kirilenko had eight points, seven rebounds, six assists, four steals and three blocks.

Here’s my translation:

- Does the back bother you anymore?

- Everything’s all right. I played today, after all, so this means my back is alright. But physically it was hard, yes. When you get out of game rhythm for a week and a half, it takes its toll.

- So you got a bit out of shape over this time?

- It’s not exactly like that. I just need to get into game rhythm once again. Today I just got winded after the first few minutes. Though after that I went back to normal.

- After your first game against Sacramento you said you were about to miss three or four days. But the rehab took 10 days. Why did it happen?

- Actually I always rehab for about eight to ten days when my back starts bothering me. If you let it slide a bit, then it takes no less than two weeks. So I rehabbed according to my normal schedule.

- Are you content with what you were able to do during your first game back?

- The team won, which means I’m content. Also, it was a fun game. I personally played well, though I could have been more active on offense. But, on the other hand, during this exact game it wasn’t needed.

- Don’t be so modest – you’ve been quite active. It was your first attempt at a five-by-five this season.

- I was surprised by only one thing – I thought I had more steals than four.

- Actually there were five listed in the boxscore, but after a few minutes since the buzzer they took away one.

- [Laughing] And I have counted about seven! Though it’s not important by now, anyway – I didn’t get enough blocks. Actually, coming back from the injury it’s very important to be very active, sometimes to even do extra. So I tried to be everywhere.

- Nobody had a five-by-five since January 2006 in the NBA. Is it something that you are capable of?

- Now it’s more difficult to block shots. During my first few seasons in the NBA it was easier. Now everybody knows it perfectly what I’m able to do, so they don’t drive straight to the hoop. More often they would just fake a shot or make a pass.

Kirilenko blocks

- Your whole career you were saying that team results are much more important than individual accomplishments. But still, what does five-by-five mean to you?

- It’s a nice thing, but not more than that. And it’s nice from the perspective that you make a lot of useful actions on the court. What it means, you took the ball away from the opponent no less than ten times. And, you helped to organize five or ten scoring plays.

- Your came back and Kevin Love had his best game of the season so far. Is that a coincidence?

- Absolutely. It’s just that Kevin can’t have many bad games. Today he started well from the very first minutes, and having caught that wave he played the whole game great.

- This season, all of Minnesota games have been close. But during the two of the last three – against Philadelphia and Cleveland – you managed to avoid a close ending. Can you say that the team gained experience, got better teamwork, became better?

- We are playing better with each other now. And when facing teams that aren’t among the best, we need to dominate. These two games prove that. Though we still had a slump in the second quarter when we let Cleveland tie the game. Other than that we pressured them all the time.

- What do Timberwolves lack right now? Or maybe someone? Ricky Rubio?

- Of course things will get easier when he returns. Ricky can keep the high tempo of the game. Right now Minnesota is playing well, but we miss the quick passes which shred the defense. Sometimes we have this problem: we get into set offense, make the first pass – to that same Kevin, for example, and then just start waiting. But when you have the ball, you need to pass it to each other quickly, make the opponents move, creating more opportunities for the shots. Rubio will help us greatly in this area. His playing style is similar to Shved‘s, but he’s more pass-oriented. Though Alexey can make a timely pass too.

- Rubio is already practicing with the team. When do you expect his comeback?

- As I heard, it should happen no earlier than mid-December. I think in about seven or ten days. Ricky is already in good playing shape. But then it takes some extra time for him to get comfortable playing with new teammates.

Follow me on Twitter for Kirilenko updates.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

