Home > International, Interviews > Shved: I passed to Kirilenko because we Timberwolves feel special

Shved: I passed to Kirilenko because we Timberwolves feel special

July 30, 2012

Having played great during Russia’s 95-72 win over Great Britain (boxscore), Timberwolves’ new guard Alexey Shved had to answer a lot of questions in English in the mixed zone. But later, Nikita Zagdai of Sports.ru got him for an exclusive interview in Russian.

Here’s a quick translation:

I passed every ball to [Andrei] Kirilenko, because we’re a duo. All Minnesota players feel special! Getting ready for the next season. But to be serious, it just happened this way. I had the ball, and he was open. We got used to playing together in CSKA. He scores, I’m passing the ball. It works great.

Your line is phenomenal: 16 points, 13 assists and 6 rebounds. Did you know you were close to a triple-double?

I didn’t even think about it. Only learned about the assists from guys on the bench. And also felt it myself, that I have dished a lot. But I didn’t check it on purpose. I was thinking more about the need to win this first game. And the second one. These are the most important games for us right now.

It seemed like the game involved the guards more, they were always a center of attention. Should it be like this, or did it happen because of the opponent?

I wouldn’t say so. We have everybody playing good. Bigs on the pick-n-rolls… well, everybody. When we need to, we are feeding the ball to bigs – or to Kirya, like today. We try to do act depending on the situation. Before each game we discuss everything, watch and decide what’s the best thing to do.

13 assists – did you move to point guard full-time? Getting ready to run the team in Minnesota?

No, I wasn’t even told what position I would play. But I’m ready for anything. I’ll play whatever way they need me to. I’m ready for everything, and then whatever happens, happens. We’ll see.

Your team was one of the last to arrive in London. What did you get to see already, what surprised you?

Well, everything! This is my first Olympics, after all. Everything is new. The Olympic village, all the athletes living together. We were welcomed really good. It’s fun. I liked it a lot. And one time we managed to visit a mall. There were a lot of people and we took a lot of pictures. But we’ll have a day off, so we’ll go out somewhere and look around.

Alexey Shved - Team Russia

Photo: FIBA.com

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

