Home > Interviews > The original Robert Horry quotes on Kobe-Shaq feud

The original Robert Horry quotes on Kobe-Shaq feud

January 24, 2012

Didn’t expect the post from yesterday to explode like that, but it got a lot of hits and was picked up by several major blogs in the States. It looks like Kobe vs. Shaq stays relevant to this day, as it’s the story of one of the greatest teams in basketball.

I wasn’t the one who conducted the interview with Robert Horry, which is why I read it in Russian on Sports.ru first. So I ran the quotes with a disclaimer that they were translated back and forth, and I believe everybody who used it on their blogs understood that.

However, judging by the reader feedback, some people still got confused, and later Horry himself tweeted back to NYT writer Howard Beck that it wasn’t translated right.

I never play with quotes in my stories, and luckily I was able to get a hold of the tape a day later. So here you go. The general message stays the same of course, but obviously there was a lot lost in (double) translation earlier. Also, got to love the Memories playing in the back.

Do you think that rift between Kobe and Shaq could be avoided?

I think Phil Jackson started that rift. Because there was a lot of times when as a team we would come to practice and after practice there’s coach, “Hey, Kobe said this about Shaq, Shaq said this about Kobe”.

And we were looking, like, “How can this be? We were just in the locker room yesterday, laughing and joking with each other. You know, them two laughing and joking with each other. Phil always liked to have controversy.

I tell people all the time, if you go back and you watch the championships, you can always tell who was close on a team, because they are the first ones that hug each other. And Shaq and Kobe were always the first ones to hug each other if we won a championship. So that can solve your rift problem right there. I think it was all media hype for them two to just start some crap.

Who’s the best player you ever played with?

I can’t really say a player, but there are two players. Hakeem Olajuwon and Kobe Bryant. Those are the two best players I ever played with. Things The Dream used to do on the court, for a big man, it was phenomenal. And to play with Kobe, one of the hardest workers I ever seen play the game, which I don’t think he gets enough credit for. He puts in the work, he puts in the time to be the player he is today. So those two guys are, by far, the two best players I ever played with. No disrespect to other greats, but those guys were just a step above everybody else.

  1. No comments yet.
Comments are closed.
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

